Tumbling into the Earth

Tumbling into the Earth

The sun has set behind the hedge
The gnats rise from the hay
I reach my hands into the grass
And fall into that ancient space

Like tumbling in water I tumble into the earth
Slowly drifting deeper into her embrace
Until I find myself suspended
For I have reached that ancient space

I cannot see but indeed I know
Aho! I say and you return
We greet each other
In this vast unknown

For a moment we know each other
Our greetings mix and turn
But then the moment is over
And I tumble out of the earth

Leave a Reply

